The Kindle–Only for Nerds?

 

kindle-vs-book*

E-Readers have been the most controversial topic in literature for many years.

 

There seem to be three camps.

 

1. The Traditionalist’s

The blog by Sir Patrick of Ireland claims E-Readers should be considered an abomination, thrust upon mankind to remove the pleasures such as the smell of a new book, and the feeling of curling up with a “page turner” They have never owned a kindle and never will! Admittedly the blog is tongue in cheek, however it is the position many traditionalists will share.

2. The Techie’s

They embrace technology, they re-invent the wheel, if it can be electrified, then it should be! They would prefer Electronic newspaper’s, like to read on a screen, queue outside the apple store for a week for a new release and would run in fear if someone held a pencil near them (Unless it was a clicky one, with a digital screen illustrating the remaining lead)

3. The Rationalists

These are people who see the advantage of the technology, but also like tradition. They love the feel and smell of a leather bound first edition. But when it comes to day-to-day reading they like convenience. They want choice of books, they like being able to carry multiple books around without the need for a trolley. They like being able to get a book from shopping cart to kindle in 60 seconds and they see the appeal of sites such as Project Gutenberg where you can download classics for free.

 

 

My Opinion

I would put myself in the rational camp. I like technology, I like to be able to Google information, love the information which can be attained instantly only limited by my imagination, but love my leather bound edition of Lord of The Rings.

Most books I read are for entertainment, and while enjoyable, they are not Dickens, so I like kindle versions as my bookshelf is already full, and I don’t want standard fiction overflowing it. However if I read a kindle book which amazes me, then I will buy it and add it to my book collection with pride. This starts to make my bookshelf a place where only approval gains admittance.

I would never take a leather bound book for the day at the beach, or on holiday, so a kindle is ideal for this.

Also you can rest the kindle on a table while you slurp a bowl of soup for lunch without it closing over, which without ruining the spine a paper book would not compete.

You can set it down to answer the door and it remembers your page, or if you read more than one book at one time, it remembers all our pages! The battery length is amazing. I have charged mine 5/6 times since getting it at Christmas! (And it takes less than 3 hours to charge)

The screen is just as crisp as a book for me, I have no issues reading it for long periods as it is not backlit (you can’t read it in the dark, but you can’t read a book in the dark either)

Downsides for me would be that you cannot get kindle books from the library (Due to copyright issues, i.e. not supporting DRM – once it’s on the kindle it stays there until you delete it)

The costs of EBooks are higher than real books, which is a pain, however the recent court case against the big publishers will hopefully help that, however when I decide I want a book I can have it within a few minutes, where ordering it for Amazon would take days to arrive.

I do not think I could do without my Kindle, but I could not do without my books either.

I would much prefer my kids read books electronically than not read at all. Is reading James Joyce on a kindle any less impressive than reading the book? I don’t think so.

Do you?

 

 

 

 

* Pic taken from Simon Gil’s Blog

12 Comments

Filed under General

12 responses to “The Kindle–Only for Nerds?

  1. My personal opinion is that the Kindle is going to appeal to those that are not book fanatics but enjoy having something to read when they are killing time and have no love for the hard bound books. I think in today’s society there are plenty of people that want to stay on top of things but don’t want to carry a lap top with them everywhere and don’t like have a back pack full of books with them. The Kindle is a perfect solution for the majority of educated individuals that like to stay informed but are mobile.

    Fabulous Freddy,
    Car Wash Las Vegas

  2. Hi, thanks for mentioning my blog! I found your blog very interesting, you present a very fresh and convincing argument for e-books!

  3. I love my Kindle, but I also like physical books, especially since not everything is available in e-book format yet. I like the portability of the Kindle (and great point about reading while eating!), but at the same time I love going to a used bookstore and finding forgotten treasures.

  4. thanks for sharing your blog with me.
    i can see your point.
    a kindle as some advantages, for sure.
    to me it is a bit pricy.

    since i do most of my work at the computer., i use to read newspapers, blogs and technical, business e-books at the computer.

    when it comes to pleasure reading, i am a traditionalist.
    i love my book, i love to touch the paper and admire a good typesetting.
    and i love to explore the library!

    i know on between 10 years time i will be owner of a kindle or ipad too, for ebooks. but i will still stick to the printed version too.

  5. I am a practicalist. I have over 8000 books stored in my Calibre and can stick hundreds of books at once on my Nook Touch. I usually read 40 or so books at a time so I like that I can do that all in one place. I just gave about 4500 books away because of this. Good post.

  6. Humaira

    Thanks for commenting my blog! I agree, I’m in the rationalist mindset. I only buy books once I know I’ll like them, but for frivolous fiction or light reading then I’d rather it not take up space on my book shelf.

  7. Pingback: Is the Kindle the next stage in Literary Evolution? | Looking Over My Shoulder

  8. I love the look and feel of a real book. However, I do not love the paucity of space my tiny-little efficiency (read: studio) apartment has; the one bookshelf that I was able to fit into the place has been full for going on two years, and this isn’t counting the overflow in sock drawers, the spice racks, the cedar chest that was actually bought to store winter clothes ,not winter reading…

    I’m a fanatic reader, but I love my Nook just as much as I do my hardcopy editions. it’s been a lifesaver, since I haven’t had to put off buying books because of limited space. I’m not picky to how I get my books—just as long as I get them.

Leave a Reply

