Don’t Beam Me Up Scotty

Science Fiction is my Achilles heel. I just don’t get it.

The idea of reading about distant galaxies with all its unusual species, spaceships and laser guns should be exciting for me, but I have never read a science fiction novel/book/short story which I liked.

And I don’t know why.

I have tried some of the “classics” such as:

  • Dune  – Just could not get into it
  • Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep – Found it very dull
  • The Man in The High Castle  – Had to give up.
  • Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy – Not funny, and quite dull

I have dipped in and out of Arthur C Clarke, Isaac Asimov, Jules Verne and HG Wells, and I just don’t find them enjoyable.

I like pretty much every other type of novels; fantasy, historical, horror, thriller, war, humour, political and even non fiction, biographies and history books, but not science fiction.

Even with movies, I am not a huge Sci-Fi fan. I liked the original Star Wars movies, watched some Star Trek and a few other things but most Sci-Fi movies and especially super hero movies just don’t do it for me.

Am I the only one there that thinks that way?

Am I missing the message?

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “Don’t Beam Me Up Scotty

  1. Gotta tell ya. I REALLY like the Dune books. To each his own.

  2. thebigsmoke

    I love science fiction as a genre. At its best, it has a lot more to teach us than some other genres. It has more potential, I think.

    However, science fiction writers take dramatically different attitudes to the genre and use the science fiction conceit in different ways.

    For example, you mentioned two of Philip K. Dick’s books, but Dick tends to use scicence fiction as a background for writing about epistemological issues. His books often descend into paranoid fantasies which don’t have are not really concerned with future technology to any great degree.

    On the flipside, there are writers like Arthur C. Clarke, who is pretty bad at writing character but obsessed with envisioning the future accurately.

    From the books you mentioned, I can kind of understand why you might not have been enthralled. Have you read any Kurt Vonnegut? What about stuff like Brave New World or 1984?

    • I have tried Vonnegut, but couldn’t get into Fahrenheit 451.

      I watched the John Hurt version of 1984, and downloaded it to my Kindle, but have not read it yet. It is on my reading list, just not got around to it.

      As it is a classic I will probably Review it for the blog once I do get around to it.

      • thebigsmoke

        Fahrenheit 451 is blah. 1984 is my favourite novel of all time, I think. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

