An Ode to a Father

 

Fathers Day was on Sunday and I got treated well.

I got dinner made for me, my weekend chores were taken care off, and I got a whopping big Gift Voucher for Amazon, so my kindle reads should be taken care of for the rest of the year.

All in all I am feeling pretty happy about it.

I thought back to my recent posts, Reforming Education in the UK ( Part 1 & Part 2 ).

I clearly stated that I did not understand poetry, how it bored me and could not come to grasp the fundamentals of Prose.

Being Fathers Day, I thought back to my own father who died in January 2011 and the speech I made at his funeral.

In it I used poetry to express how I felt.

I had to dig around to find a copy of the speech, but I copied it below as an Ode to my Father, who I still miss every day.

(I wrote it out as I would say it, I did not want to stumble over my words.)

(Also, I penned a short story about the day of his funeral, to purge the feelings I had about that day. It can be found here)

Funeral Speech

Thank you all for coming today. I am sure my father would be very happy to see you all here.

An old friend of mine, an old teacher, Ken Burnett, who acted like an educational father figure to me used to always tell me I should appreciate poetry.

That it could tell you something, that normal words couldn’t, and to be honest I used to say,

“Whatever you think Ken”

My type of poetry used to start with something like “There was a young girl from Dunmurry”

But when I was looking for inspiration for something to say today, I came across a couple of poems which seemed to sum up exactly what I wanted to say.

I can only imagine Ken, who is sadly no longer with us, has a smug look on his face right now,

The first one is Miss me, But let me go.

Miss me, but let me go

When I come to the end of the road

And the sun has set for me

I want no rites in a gloom filled room

Why cry for a soul set free

Miss me a little – but not too long

And not with your head bowed low

Remember the love that we once shared

Miss me – but let me go

For this is a journey that we must all take

And each must go alone

It’s all a part of the Master’s plan

A step on the road to home

When you are lonely, and sick of heart

Go to the friends we know

And bury your sorrows in doing good deeds

Miss me – but let me go

Anon

The second is called Now He is Gone.

You can shed tears that he is gone,

Or you can smile because he lived,

You can close your eyes and pray that he will come back,

Or you can open your eyes and see all that he has left.

Your heart can be empty because you can’t see him

Or you can be full of the love that you shared,

You can turn your back on tomorrow and live yesterday,

Or you can be happy for tomorrow because of yesterday.

You can remember him and only that he is gone

Or you can cherish his memory and let it live on,

You can cry and close your mind be empty and

turn your back,

Or you can do what he would want:

smile, open your eyes, love and go on.

~ David Harkins

I wanted to come up with a poem myself, but really I don’t have the talent or patience to come up with prose which anyone would find inspiring, so decided to stick to what I know.

There was an old man called John Deane

Who as a parent was never mean

He used to act daft

To make me laugh

Da, you were the greatest there ever has been.

Thank You

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

